Happy Clappy Theology….

I opened the Australian Prayer Book (1978) this morning to the Thirteenth Ordinary Sunday which begins with:

Clap your hands, O peoples. Shout out with loud songs of joy. Psalm 47.1

The daily collect finishes with these words which are said after communion..

Jesus said, he who finds his life will lose it, and he who loses his life for my sake will find it. Matt 10:39

Interesting dichotomy of Scripture… shout for joy and clap your hands for life… or should that be loss of life… I thank God that Jesus showed us the way and for that indeed we can be truly thankful.

About Craig Benno

I'm an average aussie guy who has lived perhaps a not so average life.
This entry was posted in prayer book and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy Clappy Theology….

  1. Hi Craig.

    Interesting thoughts.

    The one I find befuddling is rejoicing when I am persecuted for His names sake. I find it really difficult when I cop flak from my family about being a Christian, it triggers alot of old rejection stuff.

Leave a Reply

