John MacArthur… a heretic

 

T.C from New Leaven posted up this promotional video of an upcoming book of John MacArthur entitled “Slave”

He has crossed the line with his thoughts on Lordship Salvation by saying we are slaves of God. At first he starts out well and says

  • I was a slave to sin Tick
  • I become a heir of Christ Tick
  • I become a son of God through Christ Tick
  • God has freed me from the slave of sin Tick
  • Therefore I am a slave of Christ / God heresy

The thrust of Christianity is that we are free in Christ. He has set us free from the law of sin and death. We are adopted as sons and become heirs in Christ. No son is ever a considered a slave and in fact under Roman Law; no adopted son can ever be cut off from their inheritance as a son…. Let us truly rejoice in our freedom that has been obtained in and through Christ.

About Craig Benno

I'm an average aussie guy who has lived perhaps a not so average life.
This entry was posted in Heresy and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to John MacArthur… a heretic

  1. Mike Gantt says:

    How then do you understand verses like Eph 6:6; Col 4:12; James 1:1?

  2. T.C. R says:

    Craig,

    I wouldn’t go as far to calling MacArthur a heretic here. I just think he’s guilty of overselling the case of doulos.

    Mike,

    Regarding Eph. 6:6, there’s a play-on words going on here. Notice that Paul limit “slaves” to actual the slaves/master relationship.

    As to Col. 4:16 and James 1:1, this is that common practice of the NT writers and their companions (as in the case of Paul, Phil. 1:1) to refer to themselves as “slaves of Christ.” I’ve argued here for a wider background range to doulos/slave.

    Craig,

    At Matthew 23:11 the Greek word for “servant” is diakonos not doulos – though one may argue for the terms being interchangeable at times.

    • Craig Benno says:

      T.C I think the Big Mac..(thanks BT) leans so much towards legalism that according to Galation’s he is in danger of perverting the gospel message of freedom; particularly when you consider the overall thrust of Lordship Salvation.

      My point regarding Matthew 23 is that Jesus did use the word diakonos and from my understanding he never did use the word “doulos” Therefore we are to serve one another… not to be slaves of one another…. serving to me brings up thoughts of voluntary behaviour in how we act towards one another; slavery is the opposite where I must obey the demands of others…. therefore do I lay my life down because you demand it… or do I lay my life down because I give it?

  3. tildeb says:

    In a related issue, Eric writes what I think is an excellent piece over here about the kind of insidious conflict over the ownership of one’s body with mainstream christian theology through its undue influence on secular law and why it needs to be fought tooth and nail over its immoral assumptions.

    • tildeb says:

      Let’s try this again: Over here.

      • tildeb says:

        Okay… for some reason it’s not coming up under the word ‘here’ This is the link: http://choiceindying.com/2011/01/21/why-i-write-about-religion/

      • Craig Benno says:

        Hi Tildeb.

        I’m wondering if you meant to comment in my post about Medical Ethic’s… I have struggled through the issue of legalising suicide. I do voluntary work in the area of suicide prevention and awareness… I am yet to have met or heard someone who was prevented from taking their lives; who afterwards hated the person/s who saved them from themselves.

        Euthanasia is another topic; the question I have grave concerns about is who will actually make the decision? There are issues of monetary concern… will grandson A want to bump off grandpa A who is in a retirement home… because he sees his inheritance dwindling away? When I was in the stroke ward at hospital; I saw many people who thought it was better to die at the time… yet a few years later these same people are living a somewhat more productive life and don’t want to die.

      • tildeb says:

        I commented here because Eric’s article articulately explains how all of us without our consent are in fact slaves to this christian theology.

        Sullivan very perceptively comments : The idea that the body is sacred and inviolate seems closely linked to the idea that one’s body does not belong to oneself, but instead to God. This seemed to me to be quite germane – although a slightly different example – to address your complaint of heresy of being a slave to christ offered up by MacArthur. Such belief makes none of us ‘free’ but actively plays a central role in enslaving us.

  4. Barbara says:

    May I suggest you research the endnotes in SLAVE? They are important because nearly all of these references lead to heretical works of modernist and postmodern scholars who deny the fundamental doctrines of the Christian faith. Some of these “scholars” are in fact rabidly anti-Christian, and their works, which Macarthur recommends as authoritative, are filled with slander and blasphemy of the Lord Jesus Christ. One homosexual scholar cited by Macarthur wrote a blasphemous book which attempts to prove that Jesus was a homosexual. (Sex and the Single Savior) Other liberal scholars quoted by Macarthur claim that Christians in the early Church, including the Apostles, not only condoned the institution of slavery but were abusive and immoral slave owners and slave traders just like Roman slave owners/traders. For documentation, read this critical review:

    “PAGANIZING” THE CHRISTIAN CHURCH: PART 2 – JOHN MACARTHUR’S “SLAVE” BOOK
    http://watch-unto-prayer.org/macarthur-2-slave-book.html

Leave a Reply

