The Death of Christ…

The Sword and the Ploughshare has an interesting post regarding a lecture by Bruce McCormack regarding penal substitution, titled “The Suffering God.”

I made the comment that

I think more reflection needs to be put into the area of Jesus living with us… As one of us. And in this regard I believe that the emphasis is not that Christ died for us… rather he “died with us”… and in return we are raised with him..

In further reflection I think I should have added.. Christ died with us and by us.

About Craig Benno

I'm an average aussie guy who has lived perhaps a not so average life.
This entry was posted in penal substitution, The Cross, Theology and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Death of Christ…

  1. Mike Gantt says:

    Yes, I saw you make this comment on “The Sword and the Ploughshare” and was intrigued by it. Could you say more about the “died with us,” especially any textual basis you have for that?

    • Craig Benno says:

      Hi Mike. When I say he died with us; I mean he died in the same manner as we do and in the midst of humanity. Though of course not all of us are executed in the same way he was. The Gospels show that he was born as one of us and lived amongst and not apart from us and like wise he died amongst us. So it’s in this area that I believe we need more theological reflection and what this means in regards to us being raised with Christ.

Leave a Reply

