There are Books and there are Books.

Yesterdays Sydney Morning Herald had a two page spread about books. In it they reviewed a number of E Book reading devices and compared them to reading an actual book.

One of the reviewers said that they found some books better to read as a E Book than others; while other books were worse because of formatting changes, it seemed the intent of the authors voice seemed to change between the two reading forms. Another reviewer found that the readability of academic work was hindered via not being able to access foot and end notes easily.

I must admit I like the paper version of books. There is nothing better of a weekend morning than to spread a newspaper or two across the table and read through the sections. There is something about the feel of books in the hand, the feel of the pages and the visual effect it has on the senses in browsing a bookshelf.

However I do a lot of reading on line. I read emails and many blogs and having access to online journals is a great resource.  I do my research papers on line and rarely do I print them out to edit them. I have even read a number of out of print authors on line and have benefited greatly from doing so.

I have thought about getting a portable reading device a number of times; however access to books are limited in Australia, and the newspaper reported the ease that E Publishers have in accessing your portable reading device to delete a volume at will.

What are your experiences with the various reading devices on the market and what would you prefer to read from?

About Craig Benno

I'm an average aussie guy who has lived perhaps a not so average life.
This entry was posted in books, E book reading devices, e books and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to There are Books and there are Books.

  1. I’m in the UK and an avid reader. I stood firm against getting an eReader for years, but in September I decided to give it a bash – and I am SO glad that I did.

    I can’t believe how much I love my Kindle. I have read so much more as there are so many books available that are free or very cheap for a limited time on it. It’s broadened my horizons as I’ll think “Free? oh I’ll give it a bash – I can just delete it if I don’t like it!”

    I can’t read on screens like the PC or iPad (which I hate) but the Kindle is very much like reading a book! however, I wouldn’t want to read newspapers or magazines on it…you don’t get the proper feel of the media then – no colour photos, wrong layout etc.

    And I haven’t heard anything at all about publishers being able to delete things from your device. I don’t know how they would to be honest.

    • Craig Benno says:

      Thanks for the comment.
      The report spoke about people buying and uploading some books from a source that didn’t have the authority to sell / distribute them, and so Amazon was able somehow delete them… the report didn’t say how they did this… apparently it must be something inherent in the device that the publishers can access.

      Do you have any limitations to various sources for uploading… such as Google Books?

      • I actually downloaded a free converting program that can turn epub books into kindle-friendly ones with just a couple of very minor formatting errors that I have found (eg one page was all in a larger font for some reason).

        But to be honest, there’s only 4 books that I’ve actually wanted that weren’t available on Kindle (which were the reason I downloaded the converter). So I’ve not really looked into other sources. I’ve only had it since September too, remember. πŸ™‚

      • Craig Benno says:

        Lol! I had a look at your 2010 reading list… well done… do you think you will read more or less this year than you did last year using the Kindle?

      • I’m not sure really…and I’m still going to be reading SOME paper books. my Reading Group with the library will always be paper, as we get loaned the books to read once a month. And there are some books I want to read that aren’t available, like the one I started reading this morning that was originally published in the 60s πŸ™‚

        I think I have kind of reached a happy average of getting through a book a week.

      • Craig Benno says:

        A book a week is a good effort. I used to be in a reading group at my sons school and I really enjoyed it. It gave me insight into the current reading material for young children through to young adults and even challenged me to read books which would normally be outside of my normal reading base… think of Jodi Picult as an example.

      • I’ve actually recently joined TWO book clubs; one through the library (mainly older women and classical books) and one far more relaxed where we meet at a local pub (younger people, more contemporary books). I decided that a book a week means that I’ll read 2/month through the groups, and then still read 2 of my own choice πŸ™‚

  2. Ari says:

    I read ebooks on my PC and I am not a fan. Well, other than the searching functions.

    • Craig Benno says:

      I only have the PC and have found it irritating to read on also. I find even reading PDF documents a chore… though often there is no other way to access the information but through that source… I can’t afford to print them.

      Ari.. you don’t like to read books on the PC… how much reading do you do on the pc… blogs, research etc? Personally I find reading the physical version a good distraction from the screen and it seems to make me focus differently than it does while on the computer.

Leave a Reply

