So what if my faith is a crutch….perhaps you need one too?

I have often heard others deride Christianity by saying its only a crutch to get by on. I laugh at Christians who get flustered and try and explain why its not a crutch. Well; I want to say it is a crutch and I am proud to say I need my faith to live my life.

When I was in hospital, I was given a wheel chair. I progressed from a wheel chair to a walking frame and from a walking frame to a wheel chair. When I was released from hospital I was given a walking stick which I used for many years. I still have that walking stick, though I rarely use it these days.  No one ever laughed at me using a wheel chair or walking frame. A few derided my use of a walking stick; but that was their problem and not mine.

I believe in a God that created heavens and earth as well as all that breathes on the planet..including humanity. While you may not believe in God… I am sure you believe that some how the heavens, earth and all that contains was created in some way or other… So in this regard we stand as equals… though from different perspectives.

I believe in the destructiveness of sin on a personal, community and global scale. While you may not agree with me on the issue of sin, I am sure you do believe that human beings are very capable of personal, community and global destructiveness.

I believe in the power of love. I believe that love builds up and love protects and that love is patient, kind, merciful, self controlled, slow to anger, quick to forgive and doesn’t harbour grudges. While we may not want to love others this way; I am sure you will agree with me that you would like others to love you like this.

It appears then that we have a lot in common; even the fact that we both agree that my faith is a crutch. My crutch is that I believe that we are not here by accident. Instead we are here with a God given eternal purpose. I believe there is a God who loves me, who forgives and empowers me to live a life of love. Who walks with me in this journey of life; helping me when ever I fail.

My belief is not a blind belief however. It is based on reason. It is based on experience. And it is based on historical fact. And therefore it is just as real as my walking stick is real. And so I gladly admit…I need a crutch for I walk with a limp….


About Craig Benno

I'm an average aussie guy who has lived perhaps a not so average life.
This entry was posted in Personal identity, Personal reflection, philosophy, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to So what if my faith is a crutch….perhaps you need one too?

  1. tinaf07 says:

    Hey I like and read your post. I like to rely on my faith in good times and in bad times because I remeber my pastor preaching : don’t let my situations dictate my faith, let faith dictate my situation…or something along those lines 🙂

    • Craig Benno says:

      Thanks for reading and commenting Tina. I wonder if faith dictates our circumstances or does it affect our attitudes within our circumstances?

      • tinaf07 says:

        I think it dictates our reactions when we are between a rock and a hard place. That’s when Christians began to truly shine! If we react the way the world does in a tough situation how can we set a good examples for unbelievers?

      • Craig Benno says:

        I think faith goes deeper then that. The Psalms show us that we can express a wide range of emotions; including doubt. The book of lamentations shows that it is healthy to lament. Lament means expressing deep sorrow and pain; even confusion.

        It’s also important not to distance faith from the collective community of faith. I wrote an article about that here

        True faith will allow us to express our emotions in times of crisis; yet it won’t leave us there… for God will journey with us bringing us to a deeper place of trust in him.

Leave a Reply

