Cross-Cultural Curiosity. A question for my American Friends.

I am fascinated with all the hype  interest that is shown in the Super Bowl. I have heard so much about it, I had to have a look to see what it was all about. And I have to say, I don’t get it!

I don’t see how the terminology of Super Bowl is connected to Football. Here in Australia, its normal to talk about “The bowl” or the “Super Bowl” in regards to the game of cricket. For the aim of the game is to get your opponent out through the means of a catch, a leg before the wicket (LBW), bowled out, All of which is caused through the ball being bowled, by a person whom we call the bowler, who bowls the ball.

Even our terminology of “Football” can cause some international havoc. I mean, our UK friends call Soccer, Football, and their football is called Rugby. But that’s the UK for you. Here in Australia we play Football which depending on the state you come from, can mean AFL (Australian Rules), NRL and then our national team also plays Rugby.

I watched on our news this morning some of the Super Bowl teams as they walked through the corridors of their locker rooms in a procession and thought. What! They seemed to be dressed up for battle. Huge helmets, big pads that looked like bullet proof vests. All they seemed to be missing was some big guns.  Compared to our guys who play our football, and whose only protection may be a subtle head guard and mouth guard, your guys looked overly protected. Now to tell you the truth, I don’t get the game, with all its stops and starts.

But crying out loud. Can someone tell me why its called the Super Bowl when it has nothing to do with bowling? Winking smile

3 Comments on “Cross-Cultural Curiosity. A question for my American Friends.”

  1. Drewe says:

    Craig – basically, think ‘state of origin, in one game.

    The breaks are a pain, but essentially engineered so that the ad breaks can come at regular intervals. Go figure. TV drives play, It must be terrible to be at the field!

    I lived there for 2 years and have been married to an American for 13+ – I’m starting to get it, but the game is WAY too long and slow to watch. It’s more like a chess game with spare peices – you get 50 players (give or take) and put your best 13 (12?) on for the move you want to make next. Make the move (13 seconds play), then sit back and think about it again.

    I can see how\why they get excited after spending time watching games with the guys in Church, but, not for me I guess. I longed to show them a state of origin, but not sure they could of handled the non stop action! Not to mention the brawls, no pads, helmets, blood, etc…

    And as for bowl? A little cut and paste- and if you are not confused at the end, I’ve no idea why!

    The “Super Bowl” name was derived from the bowl game, a term used to describe post-season college football games. The original “bowl game” was the Rose Bowl Game in Pasadena, California, which was first played in 1902 as the “Tournament East-West football game” as part of the Pasadena Tournament of Roses and moved to the new Rose Bowl Stadium in 1923. The stadium got its name from the fact that the game played there was part of the Tournament of Roses and that it was shaped like a bowl, much like the Yale Bowl in New Haven, Connecticut; the Tournament of Roses football game itself eventually came to be known as the Rose Bowl Game. Exploiting the Rose Bowl Game’s popularity, post-season college football contests were created for Miami (the Orange Bowl) and New Orleans (the Sugar Bowl) in 1935, and for Dallas (the Cotton Bowl) in 1937. Thus, by the time the first Super Bowl was played, the term “bowl” for any big-time American football game was well established.

    So there you have it from someone who’s been there, now let’s hear from a fan :D

    • Craig Benno says:

      Drewe,that is brilliant. Did you watch the indigenous game. I hope they don’t seriously think about adding that rule to the NRL where they can take team members of the field to even up the play / score more. Though, perhaps in hindsight…we (NSW) could use that rule for the State of Origin.

      Btw, what does your wife think of our Football?

      • Drewe says:

        She doesn’t like either – just not a sports person, but she allows this weakness in me for the sake of peace (though reminds me frequently that when we were dating – a very long time ago – I wasn’t into sport at the time)

        I really only watch the state of origin games now – motor racing is more my thing, despite playing football in high school :D I had to decide what I am going to watch, as with kids (as you would know) you don’t have massive amounts of time to throw away on every sport!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,391 other followers